Tuesday, July 28, 2009

San Diego Music Awards!

For those who do not follow the awards. Maybe this year you should. There are some absolutely wonderful bands who have been nominated this year.

The San Diego Music Awards benefits The San Diego Music Foundation, a non-profit dedicated to promoting San Diego music education programs. Over the years the show has featured awards in a variety of categories covering nearly every genre of music, and featured live performances by such major-label, certified platinum, recording artists.

I would like to congratulate all the bands that have been nominated for this amazing award. Good luck. Here are the Nominations for 2009!

Best Cover or Tribute Band
40 Oz. to Freedom
Cashed out
Cheap Leis
Dazed & Confused
Electric Waste Band
Rolling the Stone
The Tighten Ups

Best Jazz
Chris Klich Jazz Quintet
David Patrone
Gilbert Castellanos
Jaime Valle
Karin Carson
Mattson 2
Nena Anderson
Steph Johnson

Best Acoustic
Astra Kelly
Erica Davies
Jordan Reimer
Marie Haddad
Smart Brothers
Steven Ybarra
Sven-Erik Seaholm
Veronica May

Best Blues
Chet Cannon & the Committee
Johnny Vernazza Band
Michele Lundeen
Nathan James
Robin Henkel
Steve White
Tomcat Courtney
West of Memphis

Best World Music
Danyavaad & The Shimmy Sisters
Elijah Emanuel
Split Finger
The Devastators
Tribal Seeds
Tribe of Judah

Best Americana or Country
Bill Cardinal & The Canyon Band
Billy Midnight
Cathryn Beeks Ordeal
John Meeks
Mark Jackson Band
River City
Sara Petite
Tornado Magnet

Best Hip Hop
Deep Rooted
Jimmy Powers
Lil Uno
MC Flow
The Concrete Project
The Kneehighs
Vokab Kompany

Best Pop
Dynamite Walls
Echo Revolution
Gray Ghosts
Lights On
Team Abraham
The Paddle Boat
The Silent Comedy
Wendy Bailey

Best Alternative
Apes Of Wrath
Hotel St. George
Monsters From Mars
Republic of Letters
Swim Party
Tape Deck Mountain
The Drowning Men
Vision of a Dying World

Best Rock
A Scribe Amidst the Lions
Burning of Rome
Dirty Sweet
The Creepy Creeps
The Dabbers
The Night Marchers
The Pheromones

Best Hard Rock
All Leather
Children of Nova
The Long and Short Of It

Best Club DJ
DJ Artistic
DJ Edgartronic
DJ Gabe Vega
DJ Lord Nelson
Dub Traffic Control
Ikah Love
Mario Orduno
Tribe of Kings

Best Electronic
Jamuel Saxon
Marcelo Radulovich
Q'uest Que C'est
Satanic Puppeteer Orchestra
The Album Leaf

Best Pop Album
Anna Troy - Wait Another Day
Fiction Family - s/t
Gayle Skidmore - Cowley Road
Get Back Loretta -Where Did You Go
Joey Harris & the Mentals - s/t
Silverleaf – s/t
The Modlins - Where Does it End?
The Predicates - Let Me Carry Your Books

Best Rock Album
Astra - The Weirding
Buckfast Superbee - Turn of the Radio Age
Citizen Band - Breaker Breaker My Heart
Irradio - I am the Horn
The Morning Riot - Carmenita
The Donkeys - Living on the Other Side
The Shamey Jays - Your Pretty Packages
Thin Man - Flush With The Moon

Best Alternative Album
The Powerchords – Think I’m Gonna
Crocodiles - Summer of Hate
Drew Andrews - Only Mirrors
Endoxi – New Blood Old Soul
Flight to Athena – City Under Fire
New Day Mile - Damn Straight
Scarlet Symphony - Foundation
The Fascination-We Can Take Care of Our Own

Best Hard Rock Album
All Leather - Hung Like A Horse
Cage - Science of Anihilation
Cattle Decapitation - The Harvest Floor
Children of Nova - The Complexity of Light
Goblin Cock - Come With Me If You Want To Live
Modern Rifles - I was Young, it was Dark
Unset - Remains of a Dream
The Long and Short Of It - CAW!

Best Hip Hop Album
afterschoolspecial – Not One for Words
Bloodstone and the Princess - Vintage Raw
Deep Rooted-D.E.E.P. R.O.O.T.E.D.
M-Double-A-L - Think and Grow Rich
Microphone Mike-Teen Idol
R.C.K. – Confidence of a King
The Breaux - Restocked
Young Mass - Best of Daygo City

Best Blues Album
Bill Magee - Good Morning Mississippi
Candye Kane - SuperHero
Charles Burton - Everybodys talkin'
Hugh Gaskins - Hughmanity
Lady Dottie & The Diamonds - s/t
Mississippi Mudsharks - Train Rolls On
Sue Palmer & her Motel Swing Orchestra - On Air
Missy Anderson - s/t

Best Jazz Album
Allison Adams Tucker-Come With Me
Bradley Leighton - Soul Collective
Chuck Perrin - Down 2 Bone
Danny Green – With You In Mind
Deejham Marie – Carpet Ride
Lori Bell - The Music of Djavan
Patrick Yandall - A New Day
Peter Sprague & Kevyn Lettau - What is Enough

Best World Album
B-Side Players - Radio Afro Mexica
Danyavaad and the Shimmy Sisters - March of the Gypsies
Keltic Kharma - IKharma
Peter Pupping - Sea Journey
Quinazo-La Ofrenda
Skelpin - Rua Rojo
Stranger-Some Kinda Show
Tribal Seeds- The Harvest

Best Americana or Country Album
Berkley Hart - Las Vegas
Charlie Imes – On an Island
Eve Selis - Angels and Eagles
Folding Mr. Lincoln - Within My Reach
Gregory Page - Bird in a Cage
Joel P. West - Dust Jacket
Sara Watkins - s/t
The Farmers - Fulmination

Best Local Recording
Chad Farran - On Surfari Sessions
Chris Leyva - 27
Goddamn Electric Bill - Topics For Gossip
Happy Ron - Terribly Happy
Josh Damigo - Raw
Pocket - s/t
Rafter - Sweaty Magic
Shark Attack - Shooting Judas

Album of the Year
Anya Marina - Slow & Steady Seduction, Phase II
Crocodiles - Summer of Hate
Drew Andrews - Only Mirrors
Jason Mraz - We Sing, We Dance, We Steal Things
Scarlet Symphony - Foundation
Slightly Stoopid - Slightly Not Stoned Enough to Eat Breakfast Yet Stoopid
The Donkeys – Living on the Other Side
Wavves - s/t

Best New Artist
Bad Science Fiction
Black Mamba
Maren Parusel
Sunday Times
The Bloodflowers
The New Archaic
The Styletones

Artist of the Year
Anya Marina
Delta Spirit
Jason Mraz
Scarlet Symphony
Slightly Stoopid

Song of the Year
Anya Marina - Move You
Crocodiles - I Wanna Kill
Delta Spirit - People C'mon
Jack Tempchin – It Could Have been You or Me
Jason Mraz (with Colbie Caillat) - Lucky
MC Flow - Created Equal
Scarlet Symphony-Your Blood is Mine
Slightly Stoopid - Thinkin Bout Cops

No comments: